Blog › Inspiration

Does Pumpkin Spice Syrup Have Dairy?

Pumpkin syrups are a favorite among many coffee lovers and foodies around the world. The sweet and aromatic blend of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and pumpkin adds a certain coziness when sipped or drizzled over pancakes or other baked treats! 

However, if you’re living with dietary restrictions, you want to enjoy everyone’s favorite seasonal beverage without guilt or discomfort. For example, you may be stressing over how many calories your favorite coffee shop's pumpkin spice syrup contains, or if natural sugars are used in pumpkin spice syrup recipes. 

If you are vegan or lactose intolerant, it’s important to know the ingredients in pumpkin spice syrup. Because these syrups can be made by a variety of manufacturers, some syrups are made with dairy products, while others aren’t. In this article, we’ll dive into the ways dairy might be added to these syrups, and explore a delicious dairy-free alternative.

What Ingredients Are Used in Pumpkin Spice Syrup?

The most common list of primary ingredients used in pumpkin spice syrup are:

  • Sugar or other sweetener
  • Water
  • Pumpkin puree
  • Natural flavorings, such as vanilla extract 
  • Spice mixes, such as cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and clove

These ingredients are mixed and heated to create a concentrated syrup that can be added to drinks or used as a flavoring component in baking and cooking. When pumpkin spice syrup is made using only these ingredients, it is completely dairy-free.


Jordan's Skinny Syrups has pumpkin flavors that are not only dairy free, but also 0 sugar, 0 calorie and 0 carb. All of the flavor with none of the guilt!

What Dairy Products Are in Pumpkin Spice Syrup?

Some pumpkin spice syrups contain dairy products to enhance the richness of the syrup, or to create a more decadent flavor. 

However, not all pumpkin spice syrups contain dairy products, and some may be explicitly labeled as dairy-free, vegan, or plant-based. Be sure to always read the ingredients list and the nutrition facts label carefully before purchasing or consuming pumpkin spice syrup, especially if you have a dairy allergy or intolerance.

So, which dairy products are used, and why? 

Milk is the most common dairy product found in pumpkin spice syrup. While it may add another dimension of flavor or thickness to the syrup, the lactose in milk can cause uncomfortable digestive issues for many. 

Cream is another dairy product that may be present in some pumpkin spice syrups. Cream is a thicker, fattier version of milk that contains more calories, saturated fat, and cholesterol. Not only does cream cause the same lactose-related problems as milk, but it should also be avoided by those watching their weight, cholesterol levels, or heart health, as it can contribute to obesity, high blood pressure, and other cardiovascular disorders.

In a Nutshell

Most pumpkin spice syrups and easy pumpkin spice syrup recipes are made with traditional ingredients and are dairy-free. This means that they can be perfect for vegans! That said, there may be some manufacturers who include dairy products in their pumpkin spice syrup recipes, so check the label of any pumpkin spice syrup carefully before trying it.

Want to enjoy delicious pumpkin spice flavor without the stress? Skinny Mixes offers naturally sweetened and sugar-free pumpkin spice syrups that are also gluten-free, kosher, and always dairy-free. Check out our selection today and turn your morning coffee into your favorite autumn treat!